Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Best of 2012: Top 30 Songs of the Year (10-1)

It’s that wonderful time of year where we can look back and reflect on the year that was. I’m still working on both of my television lists, and there’s a little bit of a reprieve with the critics awards over the next couple of days, so I thought it would be fun to share my Top 30 songs of this past year. As you can probably tell by the list, the song choices are pretty much pop songs that were hits. But that’s the type of music I like and am drawn to, so why not be true to myself? Here are the next set of 10 songs. The previous set is located on the blog. I was going to do some commentary, but I ran out of things to say after attempting to write about a few songs. I will still include my favorite lyrics from the song though. What are you favorites this year? Share your lists in the comment section down below.

10. Adele – “Skyfall”

“Where you go I go
What you see I see
I know I’d never be me
Without the security
Of your loving arms
Keeping me from harm
Put your hand in my hand
And we’ll stand”

9. Kelly Clarkson – “Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You)”

“Thanks to you I got a new thing started
Thanks to you I’m not the broken-hearted
Thanks to you I’m finally thinking about me
You know in the end the day you left was just my beginning
In the end…
What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”

8. Calvin Harris featuring Ellie Goulding – “I Need Your Love”

“I need your love
I need your time
When everything’s wrong
You make it right
I feel so high
I come alive
I need to be free with you tonight
I need your love
I need your love”

7. Gotye featuring Kimbra – “Somebody That I Used To Know”

“But you didn’t have to cut me off
Make out like it never happened and that we were nothing
And I don’t even need your love
But you treat me like a stranger and that feels so rough
No you didn’t have to stoop so low
Have your friends collect your records and then change your number
I guess that I don’t need that though
Now you’re just somebody that I used to know”

6. Ellie Goulding – “Anything Could Happen”

“I know it’s gonna be
I know it’s gonna be
I know it’s gonna be
I know it’s gonna be
I know it’s gonna be
I know it’s gonna be
I know it’s gonna be
I know it’s gonna be
All right.”

5. Frank Ocean – “Bad Religion”

“If it brings me to my knees
It’s a bad religion
This unrequited love
To me it’s nothing but
A one-man cult
And cyanide in my styrofoam cup
I could never make him love me
Never make him love me
Love, love…”

4. fun. – “Some Nights”

“Well, some nights, I wish that this all would end
Cause I could use some friends for a change
And some nights, I’m scared you’ll forget me again
Some nights, I always win, I always win…

But I still wake up, I still see your ghost
Oh Lord, I’m still not sure what I stand for, oh
What do I stand for? What do I stand for?
Most nights, I don’t know… (come on)”

3. Frank Ocean – “Thinkin Bout You”

“A tornado flew around my room before you came
Excuse the mess it made, it usually doesn’t rain
In Southern California, much like Arizona
My eyes don’t shed tears, but, boy, they bawl
When I’m thinkin’ ’bout you (ooh, no, no, no)
I’ve been thinkin’ ’bout you (you know, know, know)
I’ve been thinkin’ ’bout you
Do you think about me still?
Do ya, do ya?”

2. Ellie Goulding – “Lights”

“I had a way then losing it all on my own
I had a heart then but the queen has been overthrown
And I’m not sleeping now the dark is too hard to beat
And I’m not keeping up the strength I need to push me

You show the lights that stop me turn to stone
You shine It when I’m alone
And so I tell myself that I’ll be strong
And dreaming when they’re gone”

1. Drake featuring Rihanna – “Take Care”

“I’ve asked about you and they told me things
But my mind didn’t change
And I still feel the same
What’s a life with no fun? please don’t be so ashamed
I’ve had mine, you’ve had yours we both know
We know, they don’t get you like I will
My only wish is I die real
Cause that truth hurts, and those lies heal
And you can’t sleep thinking that he lies still
So you cry still, tears all in the pillow case
Big girls all get a little taste
Pushing me away so I give her space
Dealing with a heart that I didn’t break
I’ll be there for you, I will care for you
I keep thinking you just don’t know
Trying to run from that, say you’re done with that
On your face girl, it just don’t show
When you’re ready, just say you’re ready
When all the baggage just ain’t as heavy
And the party’s over, just don’t forget me
We’ll change the pace and we’ll just go slow
You won’t ever have to worry,
You won’t ever have to hide
You’ve seen all my mistakes
So look me in my eyes

Cause if you let me, here’s what I’ll do
I’ll take care of you
I’ve loved and I’ve lost”

*That’s it. Look for my television list coming next week, or the week after. Haven’t decided yet. Share your favorites in the comments section or send me your list by clicking on the Contact tab at the top of the blog.*

