Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Best of 2012: Top 30 Songs of the Year (20-11)

It’s that wonderful time of year where we can look back and reflect on the year that was. I’m still working on both of my television lists, and there’s a little bit of a reprieve with the critics awards over the next couple of days, so I thought it would be fun to share my Top 30 songs of this past year. As you can probably tell by the list, the song choices are pretty much pop songs that were hits. But that’s the type of music I like and am drawn to, so why not be true to myself? Here are the next set of 10 songs. The previous set is located on the blog. I was going to do some commentary, but I ran out of things to say after attempting to write about a few songs. I will still include my favorite lyrics from the song though.

20. Haley Reinhart – “Free”

“We don’t let go, we can’t get close
I still need you, and you still need me
This tug of war can’t go on anymore
Nobody wins from this misery, free
Well oh can’t you see, I wanna be, I want you to be, free”

19. Pink – “Blow Me (One Last Kiss)”

“Just when it can’t get worse, I’ve had a shit day (No!)
Have you had a shit day? (No!), we’ve had a shit day (No!)
I think that life’s too short for this, I want back my ignorance and bliss
I think I’ve had enough of this, blow me one last kiss.”

18. fun. – “One Foot”

“I put one foot in front of the other one.
I don’t need a new love or a new life just a better place to die.”

17. Ellie Goulding – “Figure 8”

“I chased your love around a figure 8,
I need you more than I can take,
You promise forever and a day, and then you take it all away,
and then you take it all away.”

16. Rihanna featuring Chris Brown – “Birthday Cake (Remix)”

“Love the way you do when you do it like that
Show up with the stats, bring the racks on my racks
Wrap it up, wrap it up boy
While I take this bow off
Talk That Talk, yeah I know I’m such a show off
Daddy make a wish
Put this cake in your face
And it’s not even my birthday”

15. Solange – “Losing You”

“Tell me the truth boy, am I losing you for good
We use to kiss all night but now it’s just no use
I don’t know why I fight it, clearly we are through
Tell me the truth boy, am I losing you for good”

14. Passion Pit – “Take a Walk”

“Once I was outside Penn station
Selling red and white carnations
We were still alone,
My wife and I
Before we marry, save my money
Brought my dear wife over
Now I want to bring my family state side”

13. Carly Rae Jepsen – “Call Me Maybe”

“Hey, I just met you,
And this is crazy,
But here’s my number,
So call me, maybe?

It’s hard to look right,
At you baby,
But here’s my number,
So call me, maybe?”

12. Frank Ocean featuring Earl Sweatshirt – “Super Rich Kids”

“We end our day up on the roof
I say I’ll jump, I never do
But when I’m drunk I act a fool
Talking ’bout, do they sew wings on tailored suits?
I’m on that ledge, she grabs my arm
She slaps my head
It’s good times, yeah
Sleeve rips off, I slip, I fall
The market’s down like 60 stories
And some don’t end the way they should
My silver spoon has fed me good
A million one, a million cash
Close my eyes and feel the crash”

11. Katy Perry – “The One That Got Away [Acoustic]”

“Someone said you had your tattoo removed
Saw you downtown singing the Blues
It’s time to face the music
I’m no longer your muse”

Honorable Mention:
Drake featuring The Weeknd – “Crew Love”
fun. – “Carry On”
fun. – “Stars”
Ellie Goulding – “I Know You Care”
M83 – “Midnight City” (I consider this more 2011, but I just discovered it this year.)
Frank Ocean – “Pyramids”
Pink featuring Nate Ruess – “Just Give Me a Reason”

