Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Best of 2012: Top 30 Songs of the Year (30-21)

It’s that wonderful time of year where we can look back and reflect on the year that was. I’m still working on both of my television lists, and there’s a little bit of a reprieve with the critics awards over the next couple of days, so I thought it would be fun to share my Top 30 songs of this past year. As you can probably tell by the list, the song choices are pretty much pop songs that were hits. But that’s the type of music I like and am drawn to, so why not be true to myself? I’m not going to write comments on these ones, but I will for the Top 20. Get ready!

30. Taylor Swift – “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together”

“Uggghhh… so he calls me up and he’s like, I still love you,
And I’m like… I just… I mean this is exhausting, you know, like,
We are never getting back together. Like, ever.”

29. Kesha – “Die Young”

“I hear your heart beat to the beat of the drums
Oh, what a shame that you came here with someone
So while you’re here in my arms
Let’s make the most of the night like we’re gonna die young”

28. Katy Perry – “Part of Me”

“Now look at me I’m sparkling
A firework, a dancing flame
You won’t ever put me out again
I’m glowin’, oh whoa”

27. Demi Lovato – “Give Your Heart a Break”

“‘Cause you’ve been hurt before
I can see it in your eyes
You try to smile it away, some things you can’t disguise
Don’t wanna break your heart
Maybe, I can ease the ache, the ache
So let me give your heart a break, give your heart a break
Let me give your heart a break, your heart a break”

26. Pink – “Try”

“Where there is desire
There is gonna be a flame
Where there is a flame
Someone’s bound to get burned
But just because it burns
Doesn’t mean you’re gonna die
You’ve gotta get up and try, try, try”

25. Drake featuring Lil Wayne – “The Motto”

“Now she want a photo
You already know though
You only live once
That’s the motto nigga YOLO.”

24. Jessie J – “Domino”

“Every second is a highlight
When we touch don’t ever let me go
Dirty dancing in the moonlight
Take me down like I’m a domino.”

23. Alex Clare – “Too Close”

“And it feels like I am just too close to love you,
There’s nothing that I can really say.
I can’t lie no more, I can’t hide no more,
Got to be true to myself.
And it feels like I am just too close to love you,
So I’ll be on my way.”

22. fun. featuring Janelle Monae – “We Are Young”

“Give me a second I,
I need to get my story straight.
My friends are in the bathroom getting higher than the Empire State.
My lover she’s waiting for me just across the bar.
My seat’s been taken by some sunglasses asking ’bout a scar.”

21. Rihanna – “Where Have You Been?”

“Where have you been?
‘Cause I never see you out
Are you hiding from me, yeah
Somewhere in the crowd?”

Honorable Mention:
Christina Aguilera – “Your Body”
Maroon 5 – “One More Night”
Phillip Phillips – “Home”
fun. – “It Gets Better”
The Wanted – “Glad You Came”
Katy Perry – “Wide Awake”
Nicki Minaj – “Starships”

