, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Oscar Race: PGA & SAG make Argo the Frontrunner
Sorry, I know it’s been a few weeks since I’ve updated. There hasn’t been much to report and the lack of reality shows to recap has kept the post count down. But the Oscar race heated up this weekend as the Producers Guild of America and the Screen Actors Guild handed out their awards for excellent in film and television. Despite Affleck’s snub in Best Director at the Oscars, Argo has secured its place as the frontrunner to win Best Picture. The PGA awarded it Best Picture on Saturday night and the SAG awarded it Best Ensemble (the equivalent of a Picture win). I am pretty confident in predicting it for a Picture win at this point. I would be shocked if something else was able to topple it. The PGA also gave out awards for Animated Feature & Documentary Feature. Wreck-It Ralph won for Animated. With it also winning the category at the BFCA, I would say its the frontrunner at this point but a weak one at that. Searching for Sugar Man for Documentary. That’s a clear frontrunner but the Oscars have pulled some crazy wins in that category before and it wouldn’t surprise.

SAG narrowed down the acting races tonight. Daniel Day-Lewis & Anne Hathaway are pretty much sure things for the Oscar. They’ve swept everything and no one else seems close to taking them down. Jennifer Lawrence pulled out a Best Actress win. But remember that Viola Davis won this award last year and lost the Oscar. The track record isn’t that great. I would say she’s a sure thing if she also wins the BAFTA, but Chastain or Riva are still in it right now. Tommy Lee Jones won Best Supporting Actor. That category is going to be the most interesting of the night. The wins have been split across the board and he’s far from a sure thing. Here’s a list of winners for both groups.

24th Annual Producers Guild of America Award Winners:

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:
Producers: Ben Affleck, George Clooney, Grant Heslov

Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:
Wreck-It Ralph
Producer: Clark Spencer

Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures:
Searching for Sugar Man
Producers: Malik Bendjelloul, Simon Chinn

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama:
Producers: Henry Bromell, Alexander Cary, Michael Cuesta, Alex Gansa, Howard Gordon, Chip Johannessen, Michael Klick, Meredith Stiehm

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:
Modern Family
Producers: Cindy Chupack, Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Ben Karlin, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Jeff Morton, Dan O’Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Chris Smirnoff, Brad Walsh, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:
Game Change
Producers: Gary Goetzman, Tom Hanks, Jay Roach, Amy Sayres, Steven Shareshian, Danny Strong

Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:
American Masters
Producers: Prudence Glass, Susan Lacy, Julie Sacks

Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:
The Amazing Race
Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Elise Doganieri, Jonathan Littman, Bertram van Munster, Mark Vertullo

Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:
The Colbert Report
Producers: Meredith Bennett, Stephen Colbert, Richard Dahm, Paul Dinello, Barry Julien, Matt Lappin, Emily Lazar, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart

Outstanding Sports Program:
Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel

Outstanding Children’s Program:
Sesame Street

Outstanding Digital Series
30 Rock: The Webisodes (www.nbc.com)


19th Annual Screen Actors Guild Award Winners:

Best Ensemble:
Ben Affleck, Alan Arkin, Kerry Bishé, Kyle Chandler, Rory Cochrane, Bryan Cranston, Christopher Denham, Tate Donovan, Clea DuVall, Victor Garber, John Goodman, Scoot McNairy & Chris Messina

Best Actor:
Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln

Best Actress:
Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Supporting Actor:
Tommy Lee Jones, Lincoln

Best Supporting Actress:
Anne Hathaway, Les Miserables

Best Stunt Ensemble – Motion Picture:

Best Ensemble – Drama Series:
Downton Abbey
Hugh Bonneville, Zoe Boyle, Laura Carmichael, Jim Carter, Brendan Coyle, Michelle Dockery, Jessica Brown Findlay, Siobhan Finneran, Joanne Froggatt, Iain Glen, Thomas Howes, Rob James-Collier, Allen Leech, Phyllis Logan, Elizabeth McGovern, Sophie McShera, Lesley Nicol, Amy Nuttall, David Robb, Maggie Smith, Dan Stevens & Penelope Wilton

Best Actor – Drama Series:
Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad

Best Actress – Drama Series:
Claire Danes, Homeland

Best Ensemble – Comedy Series:
Modern Family
Aubrey Anderson-Emmons, Julie Bowen, Ty Burrell, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Nolan Gould, Sarah Hyland, Ed O’Neill, Rico Rodriguez, Eric Stonestreet, Sofía Vergara & Ariel Winter

Best Actor – Comedy Series:
Alec Baldwin, 30 Rock

Best Actress – Comedy Series:
Tina Fey, 30 Rock

Best Actor – TV Movie/Miniseries:
Kevin Costner, Hatfields & McCoys

Best Actress – TV Movie/Miniseries:
Julianne Moore, Game Change

Best Stunt Ensemble – Television:
Game of Thrones