Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

 photo emmys_zps9e60154f.jpg

Emmy Predictions: Best TV Movie/Miniseries

I continue my series of Emmy predictions with the lead acting categories for TV Movie/Miniseries. I’m going to take a look at the categories and make groupings: Tier One, Tier Two and Tier Three. Tier One placements are for people/programs that I fully expect to get an Emmy nomination. Tier Two are people/programs that are still in the running but could be left out. And Tier Three are people/programs that I don’t expect to be nominated, but they would be a little bit of a surprise. Let’s take a look at the categories…

BEST TV MOVIE/MINISERIES:
TIER ONE:
American Horror Story: Asylum
Behind the Candelabra
Phil Spector
Top of the Lake

*I fully expect these four shows to be nominated in this category. Top of the Lake is probably the shakiest of this group. But I don’t see it getting nominations for Moss, Hunter, writing and directing and not getting one for the main category.*

TIER TWO:
The Bible
The Girl
Parade’s End
Political Animals

*These four shows are battling it out for those final two spots. I don’t know why, but I really could see The Bible sneaking in and getting nominated, despite not being mentioned in any of the other main categories. It was a monster ratings hit and that could propell it to a nomination. HBO does well in these categories so you can’t count out The Girl or Parade’s End. And USA has been doing a big campaign for Political Animals and it’s something I can see the Emmy voters falling for. It’s a tough call to make as to which two shows will get nominated from this grouping.*

TIER THREE:
The Big C: hereafter
The Hour
Mary and Martha
Steel Magnolias
Wallander: An Event in Autumn

*I wouldn’t count out any of these shows, but I would be very surprised to see any of them make the cut.*

 photo tvm_zpsb3f185d2.jpg

FINAL PREDICTIONS:
American Horror Story: Asylum
Behind the Candelabra
Parade’s End
Phil Spector
Political Animals
Top of the Lake

*I went back and forth between The Bible and Parade’s End for the final spot. I ultimately went with Parade’s End because I have it predicted in Actor, Writing & Directing. I can’t see the show raking in those nominations and not getting a spot in the big category. As to an early winner prediction, I think Behind the Candelabra has this sewn up with American Horror Story: Asylum waiting in the wings.*

OTHER CATEGORIES:
Actor & Actress – TV Movie/Miniseries
Supporting Actor & Supporting Actress – TV Movie/Miniseries
Writing & Directing – TV Movie/Miniseries

