Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 photo emmysbanner_zps40f4b749.jpg

Emmy Predictions: Best Casting

I continue my series of Emmy predictions by looking at the contenders for Best Casting. I don’t have a whole lot of insight into these categories, but that still doesn’t prevent me from making predictions.

 photo castingdrama_zps6457217b.jpg

BEST CASTING – DRAMA SERIES:
Boardwalk Empire
Downton Abbey
Game of Thrones
Homeland
Mad Men

*I’m going with some safe picks here. Homeland won this category last year, Mad Men has been nominated every year since 2008, Boardwalk Empire & Game of Thrones have been nominated the past two years, and Downton Abbey was nominated last year and has a notably large ensemble. If the category is expanded to six then I can see House of Cards sneaking in for a nomination. The Good Wife has been nominated for the last three years here, but I feel like the Emmys are over that show after they left it out of Best Drama Series last year.*

[ALSO IN CONTENTION: The Americans, Dexter, The Good Wife, Hannibal, House of Cards, The Newsroom, Scandal, True Blood, The Walking Dead]

 photo castingcomedy_zps0958069c.jpg

BEST CASTING – COMEDY SERIES:
Girls
Glee
Modern Family
New Girl
Veep

*This is a tough category to predict. New shows usually do wel in this category, especially comedies, but the lack of any new comedy being the breakout of the year has made this harder to choose. Girls won this category last year and I expect it to be back. I also expect Modern Family, New Girl and Veep to make return appearances. I’m thinking that the last spot goes to Glee. It won the category two years ago and the show had a lot of new faces this year after the senior class characters graduated. If a new show makes it in here, I think The Mindy Project will be the most likely candidate.*

[ALSO IN CONTENTION: Arrested Development, The Big Bang Theory, House of Lies, The Mindy Project, Nurse Jackie, 30 Rock]

 photo castingtvmovie_zpsa6d8272f.jpg

BEST CASTING – TV MOVIE/MINISERIES:
American Horror Story: Asylum
Behind the Candelabra
The Bible
Parade’s End
Political Animals

*I’m not going to go into a lot of detail. Movies and miniseries with big ensembles usually do well here. This is a solid lineup too. I keep saying that I’m unsure how the Emmys will embrace The Bible, but I expect it to do pretty well in the technical categories.*

[ALSO IN CONTENTION: The Big C: hereafter, Call Me Crazy: A Five Film, The Girl, The Hour, Phil Spector, Steel Magnolias, Top of the Lake]

