Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

 photo emmywinnerbanner_zpsd517a142.jpg

Emmy Winner Predictions 2013: Best Makeup

The Emmys are only a few weeks away…so it’s best to start predicting. I’m going to take a look at each category and predict who I think will be taking home the lovely Emmy statue on Sept. 15 (Creative Arts) or Sept. 22 (Primetime telecast).

 photo gameofthrones_zps2b9ff3ff.jpg

Best Makeup (Non-Prosthetic) – Single-Camera Series:
Boardwalk Empire – “Resolution”
The Borgias – “The Gunpowder Plot”
Game of Thrones – “Kissed by Fire”
Glee – “Guilty Pleasures”
Mad Men – “The Doorway”
Once Upon a Time – “The Evil Queen”

*I think this is going to be a two show race between Boardwalk Empire and Game of Thrones, with Once Upon a Time as a possible spoiler. Glee and Mad Men always get nominated but never win in this category. I don’t think their makeup work is showy enough to get a win in this category. I was leaning towards Boardwalk Empire for a possible win. Their submitted episode has a very showy New Year’s Eve party sequence that features a lot of tough period makeup work. But I think their win total is going to drastically dwindle this year, starting with this category. Game of Thrones will walk away with their second consecutive win here.*

 photo snl_zps512df020.jpg

Best Makeup (Non-Prosthetic) – Multi-Camera Series or Special:
Dancing with the Stars – “Episode 1603”
How I Met Your Mother – “P.S. I Love You”
Key & Peele – “Episode 209”
The Oscars
Saturday Night Live – “Justin Timberlake”

*SNL won this category in 2010 & 2011 and DWTS won last year. I think it will be another close race between the two of them. Key & Peele could possibly be a spoiler. They like sketch work/comedy in this category so they are still in the running. I think the popularity of the Timberlake episode will be enough to push SNL to another win in this category.*

 photo behindcandelabra_zps4dabbe24.jpg

Best Makeup (Non-Prosthetic) – TV Movie/Miniseries:
American Horror Story: Asylum
Behind the Candelabra
Liz & Dick
Phil Spector
Ring of Fire

*Mark up another win for the Liberace biopic. It’s going to be another close call between AHS and Behind the Candelabra. I think the work on Matt Damon to look younger and different after the plastic surgery will be showy to enough to get the voters’ attention. AHS also has impressive work, but I think that will likely to take the win in the prosthetic category. It could end up winning both but I predict a split in the category.*

 photo americanhorror_zps2bbc78d9.jpg

Best Prosthetic Makeup – Series, TV Movie, Miniseries or Special:
American Horror Story: Asylum
Behind the Candelabra

Game of Thrones – “Valar Dohaeris”
Saturday Night Live – “Jennifer Lawrence”
The Walking Dead – “This Sorrowful Life”

*I know I keep referencing history to past winners as a logic to my winner predictions, and I think that’s usually a safe bet. The Walking Dead has won this award the past two years and it would be worthy of another win this year. But I’m going to go with my gut instinct and predict American Horror Story as the winner here. It’s makeup work was much more prominent this year. The prosthetic work on the character of Pepper was even featured in Entertainment Weekly. I’m going to go no guts, no glory and predict an upset here.*

