Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Best Songs of 2013 (30-21)

It’s that wonderful time of year where we can look back and reflect on the year that was. I’m still working on both of my television lists, and there’s a little bit of a reprieve with the critics awards over the next couple of days, so I thought it would be fun to share my Top 60 songs of this past year. As you can probably tell by the list, the song choices are pretty much pop songs that were hits. But that’s the type of music I like and am drawn to, so why not be true to myself? Here are the first set of 10 songs. I’m not a huge music aficionado, so I don’t have a whole lot to say about the songs. I just included my favorite lyrics from the songs to go with pictures of the single cover and a screencap of the music video. Enjoy!

 photo songs30_zpsfd84e77a.jpg

30. Fall Out Boy – “Where Did the Party Go”

“And all the boys are smoking menthols
Girls are getting back rubs
I will drift to you if you make yourself shake fast enough
My old aches become new again
My old friends become exes again”

 photo songs29_zps386acf65.jpg

29. Bruno Mars – “Young Girls””

“All you young wild girls
You make a mess of me
Yeah, you young wild girls
You’ll be the death of me, the death of me
All you young wild girls
No matter what you do
Yeah, you young wild girls
I’ll always come back to you, come back to you”

 photo songs28_zpsbb453e94.jpg

28. Avicii featuring Aloe Blacc – “Wake Me Up”

“I tried carrying the weight of the world
But I only have two hands
Hope I get the chance to travel the world
But I don’t have any plans

Wish that I could stay forever this young
Not afraid to close my eyes
Life’s a game made for everyone
And love is the prize”

 photo songs27_zps61a79331.jpg

27. Justin Timberlake – “Take Back the Night”

“I wanna do something right
But we can do something better
Ain’t no time like tonight
And we ain’t trying to save it ’til later
Stay out here living the life
Nobody cares who we are tomorrow
You got that lil’ something I like
A little something I’ve been wanting to borrow”

 photo songs26_zps36b11a99.jpg

26. Lady Gaga – “Gypsy”

“Thought that I would be alone forever
But I won’t be tonight
I’m a man without a home
But I think with you I can spend my life
And you’ll be my little gypsy princess
Pack your bags and we can chase the sunset
Bust the rearview and fire up the jets
‘Cause it’s you and me
Baby, for life”

 photo songs25_zps307ee0a5.jpg

25. Taylor Swift featuring Ed Sheeran – “Everything Has Changed”

“All I know is we said, “Hello.”
And your eyes look like coming home
All I know is a simple name
Everything has changed
All I know is you held the door
You’ll be mine and I’ll be yours
All I know since yesterday is everything has changed”

 photo songs24_zps04a95911.jpg

24. Rihanna featuring Mikky Ekko – “Stay”

“Not really sure how to feel about it.
Something in the way you move
Makes me feel like I can’t live without you.
It takes me all the way.
I want you to stay.”

 photo songs23_zpse5a733dc.jpg

23. Panic! at the Disco – “This Is Gospel”

“If you love me let me go
If you love me let me go
‘Cause these words are knives and often leave scars
The fear of falling apart
And truth be told, I never was yours
The fear, the fear of falling apart”

 photo songs22_zps490e57fc.jpg

22. Bruno Mars – “Treasure”

“Give me your, give me your, give me your attention, baby
I gotta tell you a little something about yourself
You’re wonderful, flawless, ooh, you’re a sexy lady
But you walk around here like you wanna be someone else”

 photo songs21_zps3219c6ec.jpg

21. Lady Gaga featuring R. Kelly – “Do What U Want”

“I could be the drink in your cup
I could be the green in your blunt
Your pusha man, ya I got what you want
You wanna escape all of the crazy shit
You’re the Marilyn, I’m the president
And I’d love to hear you sing, girl”

REST OF THE COUNTDOWN
Best Songs of 2013 (10-1)
Best Songs of 2013 (20-11)

Best Songs of 2013 (40-31)
Best Songs of 2013 (50-41)
Best Songs of 2013 (60-51)

