Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Best Songs of 2013 (40-31)

It’s that wonderful time of year where we can look back and reflect on the year that was. I’m still working on both of my television lists, and there’s a little bit of a reprieve with the critics awards over the next couple of days, so I thought it would be fun to share my Top 60 songs of this past year. As you can probably tell by the list, the song choices are pretty much pop songs that were hits. But that’s the type of music I like and am drawn to, so why not be true to myself? Here are the first set of 10 songs. I’m not a huge music aficionado, so I don’t have a whole lot to say about the songs. I just included my favorite lyrics from the songs to go with pictures of the single cover and a screencap of the music video. Enjoy!

 photo songs40_zps2a8b859f.jpg

40. Macklemore & Ryan Lewis featuring Mary Lambert – “Same Love”

“And I can’t change
Even if I tried
Even if I wanted to
And I can’t change
Even if I tried
Even if I wanted to
My love
My love
My love
She keeps me warm
She keeps me warm
She keeps me warm
She keeps me warm”

 photo songs39_zps49bd53e8.jpg

39. Lana Del Rey featuring Cedric Gervais – “Summertime Sadness [Remix]”

“I got my red dress on tonight
Dancing in the dark in the pale moonlight
Done my hair up real big beauty queen style
High heels off, I’m feeling alive

Oh, my God, I feel it in the air
Telephone wires above are sizzling like a snare
Honey, I’m on fire, I feel it everywhere
Nothing scares me anymore”

 photo songs38_zps347e9142.jpg

38. Mariah Carey featuring Miguel – “#Beautiful”

“I like when you run red lights
Don’t stop ’til you thrill me, oh how you thrill me
Always in control, how you do it, I don’t know
But I don’t care, take me anywhere
‘Cause it’s beautiful, ooh you make me feel invincible
And I can’t pretend that doesn’t mean a thing to me, to me, oh yeah”

 photo songs37_zps1d0ee05c.jpg

37. Lady Gaga – “Applause”

“I’ve overheard your theory “nostalgia’s for geeks”
I guess sir, if you say so, some of us just like to read
One second I’m a Koons, then suddenly the Koons is me
Pop culture was in art, now art’s in pop culture in me”

 photo songs36_zps7847d9ad.jpg

36. OneRepublic – “Counting Stars”

“Take that money
Watch it burn
Sink in the river
The lessons I learned

Everything that kills me makes me feel alive”

 photo songs35_zps681d786c.jpg

35. Lily Allen – “Hard Out Here”

“You’re not a size six, and you’re not good looking
Well, you better be rich, or be real good at cooking
You should probably lose some weight
‘Cause we can’t see your bones
You should probably fix your face or you’ll end up on your own”

 photo songs34_zpsff1ab6e0.jpg

34. Katy Perry – “Walking on Air”

“Just when I think I can’t take anymore
We go deeper and harder than ever before
We go higher and higher
I feel like I’m already there”

 photo songs33_zps271b4fbc.jpg

33. Panic! at the Disco – “Nicotine””

“Just one more hit and then we’re through
‘Cause you could never love me back
Cut every tie i have to you
‘Cause your love’s a fucking drag
But I need it so bad
Your love’s a fucking drag
But I need it so bad”

 photo songs32_zps5c4b361f.jpg

32. Ellie Goulding – “Burn”

“When the light’s turning down, they don’t know what they heard
Strike the match, play it loud, giving love to the world
We’ll be raising our hands, shining up to the sky
‘Cause we got the fire, fire, fire
Yeah we got the fire, fire, fire”

 photo songs31_zps31eb5640.jpg

31. Icona Pop featuring Charli XCX – “I Love It”

“I got this feeling on the summer day when you were gone.
I crashed my car into the bridge. I watched, I let it burn.
I threw your shit into a bag and pushed it down the stairs.
I crashed my car into the bridge.
I don’t care, I love it.
I don’t care.”

REST OF THE COUNTDOWN
Best Songs of 2013 (10-1)
Best Songs of 2013 (20-11)
Best Songs of 2013 (30-21)

Best Songs of 2013 (50-41)
Best Songs of 2013 (60-51)

