Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Best Songs of 2013 (20-11)

It’s that wonderful time of year where we can look back and reflect on the year that was. I’m still working on both of my television lists, and there’s a little bit of a reprieve with the critics awards over the next couple of days, so I thought it would be fun to share my Top 60 songs of this past year. As you can probably tell by the list, the song choices are pretty much pop songs that were hits. But that’s the type of music I like and am drawn to, so why not be true to myself? Here are the first set of 10 songs. I’m not a huge music aficionado, so I don’t have a whole lot to say about the songs. I just included my favorite lyrics from the songs to go with pictures of the single cover and a screencap of the music video. Enjoy!

 photo songs20_zps572930c3.jpg

20. Robin Thicke featuring T.I. & Pharrell – “Blurred Lines”

“If you can’t hear what I’m trying to say
If you can’t read from the same page
Maybe I’m going deaf,
Maybe I’m going blind
Maybe I’m out of my mind”

 photo songs19_zpsd0488a23.jpg

19. Fall Out Boy – “Alone Together”

“I don’t know where you’re going
But do you got room for one more troubled soul?
I don’t know where I’m going but I don’t think I’m coming home
And I said I’ll check in tomorrow if I don’t wake up dead
This is the road to ruin
And we’re starting at the end”

 photo songs18_zps6e859d6a.jpg

18. Macklemore & Ryan Lewis featuring Ray Dalton – “Can’t Hold Us”

“Can we go back, this is the moment
Tonight is the night, we’ll fight ’til it’s over
So we put our hands up like the ceiling can’t hold us
Like the ceiling can’t hold us
Can we go back, this is the moment
Tonight is the night, we’ll fight ’til it’s over
So we put our hands up like the ceiling can’t hold us
Like the ceiling can’t hold us”

 photo songs17_zps90309569.jpg

17. Janelle Monae – “Dance Apocalyptic”

“You’re going crazy
The hitmen always find you
Do that dance
Smoking in the girls room
Kiss in France
It’s over like a comic book
Exploding in a bathroom stall
She’s so freaked out
Worrying about the bomb but
You bought a house
But I’m allergic to the house pets
Your credit cards
They bought a new wife
For shiny little lonely men”

 photo songs16_zps205ccdf7.jpg

16. Taylor Swift – “22”

“I don’t know about you
But I’m feeling 22
Everything will be alright
If you keep me next to you
You don’t know about me
But I’ll bet you want to
Everything will be alright
If we just keep dancing like we’re
22, ooh-ooh
22, ooh-ooh”

 photo songs15_zps88b7d2a4.jpg

15. Tegan and Sara – “Closer”

“It’s not just all physical
I’m the type who won’t get oh so critical
So let’s make things physical
I won’t treat you like you’re oh so typical

I want you close, I want you
I won’t treat you like you’re typical
I want you close, I want you
I won’t treat you like you’re typical”

 photo songs14_zpsed0bbd18.jpg

14. Katy Perry featuring Juicy J – “Dark Horse”

“Are you ready for, ready for
A perfect storm, perfect storm
Cause once you’re mine, once you’re mine
There’s no going back”

 photo songs13_zps192c5620.jpg

13. Fall Out Boy – “My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark (Light Em Up)”

“A constellation of tears on your lashes
Burn everything you love, then burn the ashes
In the end everything collides
My childhood spat back out the monster that you see
My songs know what you did in the dark”

 photo songs12_zpsb90013dc.jpg

12. Miley Cyrus – “Wrecking Ball”

“I never meant to start a war
I just wanted you to let me in
And instead of using force
I guess I should’ve let you win
I never meant to start a war
I just wanted you to let me in
I guess I should’ve let you win”

 photo songs11_zps42ff3598.jpg

11. Darius Rucker – “Wagon Wheel”

“Walkin’ to the south out of Roanoke
I caught a trucker out of Philly had a nice long toke
But he’s a-heading west from the Cumberland gap
To Johnson City, Tennessee
I gotta get a move on before the sun
I hear my baby calling my name and I know that she’s the only one
And if I die in Raleigh at least I will die free”

REST OF THE COUNTDOWN
Best Songs of 2013 (10-1)

Best Songs of 2013 (30-21)
Best Songs of 2013 (40-31)
Best Songs of 2013 (50-41)
Best Songs of 2013 (60-51)

