, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 photo nompic_zps5def7d70.jpg

Nominations for the 86th Annual Academy Awards Announced
The nominations for the 86th Annual Academy Awards were announced this morning. While last year had some of the biggest snubs in Academy history, this year there were a few but not as glaring as Affleck & Bigelow last year. The two major ones: Tom Hanks missing Best Actor & Emma Thompson missing Best Actress. Thompson wasn’t a huge surprise since that category was so crowded, but Hanks was considered a possible upset winner in the Actor category. It’s also shocking considering how much Captain Phillips was loved in the other technical categories. Inside Llewyn Davis was snubbed everywhere except Cinematography & Sound Mixing.

Here’s the full list of nominations…

 photo picture1_zps639f72cf.jpg
 photo picture2_zps941ab244.jpg

Best Picture:
American Hustle – Megan Ellison, Jonathan Gordon, Charles Roven & Richard Suckle
Captain Phillips – Dana Brunetti, Michael De Luca & Scott Rudin
Dallas Buyers Club – Robbie Brenner & Rachel Winter
Gravity – Alfonso Cuaron & David Heyman
Her – Megan Ellison, Spike Jonze & Vincent Landay
Nebraska – Albert Berger & Ron Yerxa
Philomena – Steve Coogan, Tracey Seaward & Gabrielle Tana
12 Years a Slave – Dede Gardner, Anthony Katagas, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen & Brad Pitt
The Wolf of Wall Street – TBA

 photo director_zps2b51011a.jpg

Best Director:
Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity
Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave
Alexander Payne, Nebraska
David O. Russell, American Hustle
Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street

 photo actor_zps5dc1bdef.jpg

Best Actor:
Christian Bale, American Hustle
Bruce Dern, Nebraska
Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club

 photo actress_zps14eb9510.jpg

Best Actress:
Amy Adams, American Hustle
Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Sandra Bullock, Gravity
Judi Dench, Philomena
Meryl Streep, August: Osage County

 photo supactor_zps39054c47.jpg

Best Supporting Actor:
Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips
Bradley Cooper, American Hustle
Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave
Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

 photo supactress_zpsf3e785ac.jpg

Best Supporting Actress:
Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine
Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle
Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
Julia Roberts, August: Osage County
June Squibb, Nebraska

 photo orscreenplay_zps01091f1d.jpg

Best Original Screenplay:
American Hustle – David O. Russell & Eric Warren Singer
Blue Jasmine – Woody Allen
Dallas Buyers Club – Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack
Her – Spike Jonze
Nebraska – Bob Nelson

 photo adscreenplay_zpsa0350f04.jpg

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Before Midnight – Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke & Richard Linklater
Captain Phillips – Billy Ray
Philomena – Steve Coogan & Jeff Pope
12 Years a Slave – John Ridley
The Wolf of Wall Street – Terence Winter

 photo animated_zpsf9932cc2.jpg

Best Animated Feature:
The Croods – Kristine Belson, Kirk DeMicco & Chris Sanders
Despicable Me 2 – Pierre Coffin, Chris Meledandri & Chris Renaud
Ernest & Celestine – Didier Brunner & Benjamin Renner
Frozen – Chris Buck, Peter Del Vecho & Jennifer Lee
The Wind Rises – Hayao Miyazaki & Toshio Suzuki

 photo documenta_zps7b1cc312.jpg

Best Documentary Feature:
The Act of Killing – Joshua Oppenheimer & Signe Byre Sorensen
Cutie and the Boxer – Zachary Heinzerling & Lydia Dean Pilcher
Dirty Wars – Richard Rowley & Jeremy Scahill
The Square – Karim Amer & Jehane Noujaim
20 Feet From Stardom – TBA

 photo foreign_zps1b114617.jpg

Best Foreign-Language Film:
The Broken Circle Breakdown – Belgium
The Great Beauty – Italy
The Hunt – Denmark
The Missing Picture – Cambodia
Omar – Palestine

 photo feditig_zps715fef85.jpg

Best Film Editing:
American Hustle – Alan Baumgarten, Jay Cassidy & Crispin Struthers
Captain Phillips – Christopher Rouse
Dallas Buyers Club – John Mac McMurphy & Martin Pensa
Gravity – Alfonso Cuaron & Mark Sanger
12 Years a Slave – Joe Walker

 photo cinemat_zps13a9f26f.jpg

Best Cinematography:
The Grandmaster – Philippe Le Sourd
Gravity – Emmanuel Lubezki
Inside Llewyn Davis – Bruno Delbonnel
Nebraska – Phedon Papamichael
Prisoners – Roger Deakins

 photo score_zps69fd18c5.jpg

Best Original Score:
The Book Thief – John Williams
Gravity – Steven Price
Her – William Butler & Owen Pallett
Philomena – Alexandre Desplat
Saving Mr. Banks – Thomas Newman

 photo song_zps274d6819.jpg

Best Original Song:
Alone Yet Not Alone – “Alone Yet Not Alone” – Bruce Broughton & Dennis Spiegel
Despicable Me 2 – “Happy” – Pharrell Williams
Frozen – “Let It Go” – Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez
Her – “The Moon Song” – Spike Jonze & Karen O
Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom – “Ordinary Love” – Bono, Adam Clayton, The Edge & Larry Mullen

 photo proddes_zps14f1701d.jpg

Best Production Design:
American Hustle – Judy Becker & Heather Loeffler
Gravity – Rosie Goodwin & Andy Nicholson
The Great Gatsby – Beverley Dunn & Catherine Martin
Her – K.K. Barrett & Gene Serdena
12 Years a Slave – Alice Baker & Adam Stockhausen

 photo cosdes_zpsd3dd1621.jpg

Best Costume Design:
American Hustle – Michael Wilkinson
The Grandmaster – William Chang Suk Ping
The Great Gatsby – Catherine Martin
The Invisible Woman – Michael O’Connor
12 Years a Slave – Patricia Norris

 photo makeup_zps7ba653c7.jpg

Best Makeup and Hairstyling:
Dallas Buyers Club – Adruitha Lee & Robin Mathews
Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa – Stephen Prouty
The Lone Ranger – Joel Harlow & Gloria Pasqua-Casny

 photo soundmix_zps8ec5ef94.jpg

Best Sound Mixing:
Captain Phillips – Chris Burdon, Chris Munro, Mike Prestwood Smith & Mark Taylor
Gravity – Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead, Skip Lievsay & Chris Munro
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug – Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Tony Johnson & Michael Semanick
Inside Llewyn Davis – Peter K. Kurland, Skip Lievsay & Greg Orloff
Lone Survivor – Beau Borders, David Brownlow & Andy Koyama

 photo soundedit_zps3c903e79.jpg

Best Sound Editing:
All Is Lost – Steve Boeddeker & Richard Hymns
Captain Phillips – Oliver Tarney
Gravity – Glenn Freemantle
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug – Brent Burge
Lone Survivor – Wylie Stateman

 photo visualeffects_zps5150b302.jpg

Best Visual Effects:
Gravity – Neil Corbould, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk & Tim Webber
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug – David Clayton, Joe Letteri, Eric Reynolds & Eric Saindon
Iron Man 3 – Erik Nash, Dan Sudick, Christopher Townsend & Guy Williams
The Lone Ranger – Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, John Frazier & Edson Williams
Star Trek Into Darkness – Burt Dalton, Ben Brossmann, Roger Guyett & Patrick Tubach

Best Animated Short Film:
Get a Horse!
Mr. Hublot
Room on the Broom

Best Documentary Short Subject:
Facing Fear
Karama Has No Walls
The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life
Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall

Best Live-Action Short Film:
Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)
Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything)
Pitaako Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)
The Voorman Problem